American Revolution

Thirteen colonies of North America won their independence from Great Britain and went on to form the United States of America. The conflict started in April 1775 in Massachusetts at Lexington and Concord. On July 4, 1776 the colonies issued their Declaration of Independence. After the decisive victory by American forces at Saratoga, the French joined forces with the Americans. Great Britain's defeat at Yorktown ended the fighting in North America.