Cayman Islands


The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries and were administered by Jamaica after 1863. In 1959, the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies. When the Federation dissolved in 1962, the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency.

mixed 40%, white 20%, black 20%, expatriates of various ethnic groups 20%
Church of God 25.5%, Roman Catholic 12.6%, Presbyterian/United Church 9.2%, Seventh Day Adventist 8.4%, Baptist 8.3%, Pentecostal 6.7%, Anglican 3.9%, other religions 4%, non-denominational 5.7%, other 6.5%, none 6.1%, unspecified 3.2% (2007)

Country information from the CIA World Factbook.