War of the Rebellion: Serial 059 Page 0659 Chapter XLIV. CORRESPONDENCE, ETC.-CORRESPONDENCE.

Search Civil War Official Records

Organization of troops in the Department of Alabama, Mississippi, and East Louisiana, commanded by Lieutenant General Leonidas Polk, C. S. Army, March 20, 1864.


Major General WILLIAM W. LORING.

Featherston's Brigade.

3rd Mississippi, Colonel T. A. Mellon.

22nd Mississippi, Colonel Frank Schaller.

31st Mississippi, Colonel J. A. Orr.

33rd Mississippi, Lieutenant Colonel J. L. Drake.

40th Mississippi, Colonel W. Bruce Colbert.

1st Mississippi Battalion Sharpshooters,

Major J. M. Stigler.

Scott's Brigade.


55th Alabama, Colonel John Snodgrass.

57th Alabama, Colonel C. J. L. Cunninggham.

9th Arkansas. Colonel Isac L. Dunlop.

12th Louisiana, Lieutenant Colonel N. L. Neloson.

Adams' Brigade.

Brigadier General JOHN ADAMS.

6th Mississippi, Colonel Robert Lowry,

14th Mississippi, Lieutenant Colonel W. L. Doss.

15th Mississippi, Colonel M. Farrell.

20th Mississippi, Colonel William N. Brown.

23rd Mississippi, Colonel Joseph M. Wells.

26th Mississippi, Colonel Arthur E. Reynolds.

1st Confederate Battalion, Lieutenant Colonel George

H. Forney.


Charpentier's (Alabama) battery, Captain Stephen Charpentier.

Chowan's (Mississippi) battery, Captain James Cowan.

Lookout (Tennessee) Battery, Captain Robert L. Barry.

Point Coupe (Louisiana) Battery, Captain Alcide Bouanchaud.

Ratliff's (Mississippi) battery, Captain William T. Ratliff.


Major General SAMUEL G. FRENCH.

Ector's Brigade.

Brigadier General MATTHEW D. ECTOR.

29th North Carolina, Lieutenant Colonel Bacchus S. Profitt.

9th Texas, Colonel William H. Young.

10th Texas Cavalry (dismounted), Colonel C. R. Earp.

32nd Texas Cavalry (dismounted), Lieutenant Colonel James A. Weaver.

Cockrell's Brigade.

Brigadier General FRENCIS M. COCKRELL.

1st and 3rd Missouri Cavalry (dismounted), Colonel Elijah Gates.

1st and 4th Missouri, Colonel A. C. Rilay.

2nd and 6th Missouri, Colonel P. C. Flournoy.

3rd and 5th Missouri, Colonel James McCown.


Hoskins' (Mississippi) battery, Captain James A. Hoskins.

1st Missouri Battery, Captain Henry Guibor.