War of the Rebellion: Serial 059 Page 0604 KY., SW. VA., TENN., MISS., ALA., AND N. GA. Chapter XLIV.

Search Civil War Official Records

Organization of troops in the Department of Alabama, Mississippi, and East Louisiana, commanded by Lieutenant General Leonidas Polk, C. S. Army, March 10, 1864.


Major General WILLIAM W. LORING.

Adams' Brigade.

6th Mississippi, Colonel Robert Lowry.

14th Mississippi, Colonel George W. Abert.

15th Mississippi, Colonel M. Farrel.

20th Mississippi, Colonel William N. Brown.

23rd Mississippi, Colonel Joseph M. Wells.

26th Mississippi, Colonel Arthur E, Reynolds.

1st Confederate Battalion, Lieutenant Colonel George H. Forney.

Featherston's Brigade.


3rd Mississippi, Colonel T. A. Mellon.

22nd Mississippi, Colonel Frank Schaller.

31st Mississippi, Colonel J. A. Orr.

33rd Mississippi, Lieutenant Colonel J. L. Drake.

1st Mississippi Battalion Sharpshooters, Major J. M. Stigler.

Scott's Brigade.


55th Alabama, Colonel John Snodgrass.

57th Alabama, Colonel C. J. L. Cunningham.

9th Arkansas, Colonel Isaac L. Dunlop.

12th Louisiana, Lieutenant Colonel N. L. Nelson.

Division Artillery.

Charpentier's (Alabama) battery, Captain Stephen Charpentier.

Lookout (Tennessee) Battery, Captain

Point Coupee (Louisiana) Battery, Captain Alcide Bouanchaud.

Reserve (Mississippi) Battery, Captain Kames J. Cowan.

Withers' (Mississippi) Artillery, Company A, Captain William T. Ratliff.


Ector's Brigade.

Brigadier General MATTHEW D. ECTOR.

29th North Carolina, Lieutenant Colonel Bacchus S. Proffitt.

9th Texas, Major J. H. McReynolds.

10th Texas Cavalry (dismounted), Colonel C. R. Earp.

14th Texas Cavalry (dismounted), Colonel John L. Camp.

32nd Texas Cavalry (dismounted), Lieutenant Colonel James A. Weaver.

Cockrell's Brigade

Brigadier General FRANCIS M. COCKRELL.

1st and 3rd Missouri Cavalry (dismounted), Lieutenant Colonel D. Todd Samuels.

1st and 4th Missouri Infantry, Colonel A. C. Riley.

2nd and 6th Missouri Infantry, Colonel P. C. Flournoy.

3rd and 5th Missouri Infantry, Colonel James McCown.

Division Artillery.

Hoskins' (Mississippi) battery, Captain James A. Hoskins.

1st Missouri Battery, Captain Henry Guibor.


Rice's (Tennessee) battery, Captain T. W. Rice.