War of the Rebellion: Serial 038 Page 0592 Chapter XXXVI. Mississippi, WEST TENNESSEE, ETC.

Search Civil War Official Records


I. This corps will be organized as follows, viz:

First brigade.

1st Mississippi Regiment.

4th Mississippi Regiment.

28th Mississippi Regiment.

Balch's battalion.

SECOND Brigade.

3rd Arkansas Regiment.

2nd Missouri Regiment.

1st Tennessee Regiment.

Ballentine's regiment.

THIRD Brigade.

3rd Texas Regiment.

6th Texas Regiment.

9th Texas Regiment.

Whitfield's Legion.

Fourth Brigade.

Regiment now under the command

of Colonel Roddey.

Reserve at General Headquarters.

Baxter's scouts.

Sanders' battalion.

Company Regulars.

The regiment now en route to join the corps from Montgomery will be assigned to the weakest brigade. When the proper general officers are assigned to command, the corps will be organized into two DIVISIONS, as follows: The First and SECOND Brigades will form First DIVISION; the THIRD and Fourth Brigades will form SECOND DIVISION.

II. The organization of brigades will be made at once, the senior colonel present commanding. Brigade commanders will get their regiments together without loss of time, and put them in condition for the road. Report will be made as soon as practicable, showing the number of serviceable horses, as well as the effective strength present of their commands.

General W. H. Jackson will command the First, SECOND, and THIRD Brigades as a DIVISION until further orders.

By order of General Van Dorn:


Major and Assistant Adjutant-General.

GENERAL ORDERS, HDQRS. DEPT. OF MISS. AND EAST. La., Number 5. Grenada, January 21, 1863.

Hereafter the organization of the army, Department of Mississippi and Eastern Louisiana, will be a follows, viz:

The army will consist of two DIVISIONS, to be known as First and SECOND DIVISIONS, and commanded respectively by Major General W. W. Loring and Major General Sterling Price. Each DIVISION will consist of two brigades.

First DIVISION comprises [L.] Tilghman's brigade, [A.] Rust's brigade, and Waul's Texas Legion, Colonel [T. N.] Waul commanding. General Tilghman will take command of the brigade hitherto under command of Brigadier-General [W. E.] Baldwin.

The command hitherto known as Rust's DIVISION is merged into one brigade, to be known as Rust's brigade.

SECOND DIVISION comprises [J. S.] Bowen's brigade and [M. E.]

Green's brigade. The command hitherto known as Bowen's DIVISION is resolved into two brigades, Brigadier-General Bowen taking command of one,