War of the Rebellion: Serial 030 Page 0361 Chapter XXXII. CORRESPONDENCE, ETC.-UNION.

Search Civil War Official Records

December, 1862, and were ordered back, on account of the position of the enemy near La Vergne, and subsequently imprisoned:

Company B: Privates Thomas H. Myers, Benjamin F. Keyser, Lewis Selgrade, William Staker, William Rule, Aubrey Henry, R. M. Garrett, Nathaniel B. Briggs. Company C: Privates Walter G. Wilson, Nathan King, Thomas D. Willis, John McKee, Charles H. Fritz, John Huey, George W. Eckert, Joseph K. Pierce, Charles McGinley, A. W. Thomas, W. Benner, J. O. Stokes, D. Harkinson, H. De Silver, Joseph S. Wright, E. Ferry, J. Faucett, J. G. Haines, A. Haines. Company D: Privates William Bardsley, E. W. Anderson, Samuel L. Ennis, J. G. Henvis, L. Leedum, B. Palmer, H. H. Davis, G. P. Louder, S. Knight, J. W. Sausser, I. I. Worrell, W. S. Johnston, James A. Murray, S. Knight, R. D. Coombs, J. R. Locke, T. J. Whipkey, H. D. Overholt, William Young. Company E: Privates Paul Scheerer, William A. Hartley, Benjamin Hough, E. W. Hough, Francis O'Brien, W. H. Davis. Company F: Privates G. H. Lawton, Daniel Fisher, W. E. Reppert, D. M. Milligan, F. M. Shaner, William Guffey, Samuel Livengood, W. J. Marion, P. G. Wallace, J. H. Metzler, James Lewis, John Farrer, Lindley McVey, James R. Martin, T. N. Harthaway, B. Herbert, John Davis, M. E. Shaw, William Wassell, H. Fry, James C. McDonald, H. H. Vance, D. Coogle, S. B. Euwer. Company G: Privates George M. Petty, J. L. Hammell, R. W. Hammell, James Woodwell, A. Hitchins, James A. Foresman, H. Jones, D. Scull, D. Dunseath, jr., C. C. De Granges, H. N. Oliver, E. H. Hunt, F. M. Crawford, H. Wilson, H. Biggert, Charles R. Jenkins, A. Markley, J. P. Anderson, A. O. Gaw, T. W. Dyott. Company H: Privates John H. Harrison, W. Glendinning, Joseph D. Price, N. B. McNay, E. B. Jones, James W. Sanford, C. T. McCarter, W. H. Newman, E. L. Hiltner. Company I: Privates S. A. Abbey, John Walter, R. C. Geddes, W. Lush, A. D. Woolston, Samuel Barr, Smith Cozzens, W. H. McDonald, Albert Super, Joseph Squires, W. T. Johnston, Joseph R. Burke, A. M. Price, Samuel Gyger, H. M. Sands, Samuel A. Topham, J. A. Wilt. Company K: Privates Josiah Lewis, A. Leroy Hawkins, George Stone, A. Stevenson, S. Gass, B. B. Evans, J. Arvecost, J. Milligan, George Brown, J. M. Hartley, L. Grim, Robert Jordon, John H. Bell, D. Ross, J. D. Waychoff, J. Rex, J. Houston, S. Houston, B. McCarty, J. Phillips, J. H. Houston, M. E. Megonegal, J. Adamson, John Moredock, W. H. Chambers, A. Myers, Jonas Milligan, W. B. Moredock, J. A. Reynolds, Amos Riggle, E. Bond, J. L. Rickey, Clark Denney, J. P. McNay, James Houlsworth-157.

This list having been procured from the men in confinement, I cannot certify to the correctness of it, though, to the best of my knowledge, it is a true one.


Captain, Comdg. Fifteenth Pennsylvania Volunteer Cavalry.

[Inclosure O.]

HEADQUARTERS ANDERSON CAVALRY, Camp Ward, Nashville, Tenn., January 27, 1863.

Major N. H. DAVIS,

Assistant Inspector-General, U. S. Army:

MAJOR: In answer to your letter of to-day, I have the honor to state that the order sending the Anderson Cavalry to Nashville was a verbal one, delivered to me on the morning of the 31st January, 1863, by Colonel Minty, of the Fourth Michigan Cavalry.

According to this order, I was to report to Colonel Zahm, of the Third