War of the Rebellion: Serial 023 Page 0764 KY.,M.AND E.TENN.,N.ALA.,AND SW.VA. Chapter XXVIII.

Search Civil War Official Records

Organization of the Right Wing, Army of the Mississippi, under Major General L. Polk, August 18 and 20, 1862.



First Brigade.

Brigadier General D. S. DONELSON.

8th Tennessee, Colonel W. L. Moore.

15th Tennessee, Colonel R. C. Tyler.

16th Tennessee, Colonel John H. Sayage.

38th Tennessee, Colonel John C. Carter.

51st Tennessee, Colonel John Chester.

Carness' battery, Captain W. W. Carness.

Second Brigade.

Brigadier General A. P. STEWART.

4th Tennessee, Colonel O. F. Strahl.

5th Tennessee, Colonel C. D. Venable.

24th Tennessee, Lieutenant Colonel H. L. W. Bratton.

31st Tennessee, Colonel E. E. Tansil.

33rd Tennessee, Colonel W. P. Jones.

Stanford's battery, Captain T. J. Stanford.

Third Brigade.

Brigadier General GEORGE MANEY.

41st Georgia, Colonel C. A. McDaniel.

1st Tennessee, Colonel H. R. Feild.

6th Tennessee, Colonel George C. Porter.

9th Tennessee, Colonel C. S. Hurt.

27th Tennessee, Colonel A. W. Caldwell.

M. Smith's battery, Lieutenant W. B. Turner.

Fourth Brigade.

Brigadier General PRESTON SMITH.

12th Tennessee, Colonel T. H. Bell.

13th Tennessee, Colonel A. J. Vaughan, jr.

47th Tennessee, Colonel M. R. Hill.

154th Tennessee, Colonel E. Fitzgerald.

9th Texas, Colonel W. H. Young.

Sharpshooters, Captain P. T. Allin.

S. P. Bankhead's battery, Lieutenant W. L. Scott.


Brigadier General J. M. WITHERS.

First Brigade.

Brigadier General FRANK GARDNER.

19th Alabama, Colonel Joseph Wheeler.

22nd Alabama, Colonel Z. C. Deas.

25th Alabama, Colonel J. Q. Loomis.

26th Alabama, Colonel J. G. Coltart.

39th Alabama, Colonel H. D. Clayton.

Sharpshooters, Captain B. C. Yancey.

Robertson's baty., Captain F. H. Robertson.

Second Brigade.

Brigadier General J. R. CHALMERS.

5th Mississippi, Lieutenant Colonel W. L. Sykes.

7th Mississippi, Colonel W. H. Bishop.

9th Mississippi, Captain T. H. Lynam.

10th Mississippi, Lieutenant Colonel J. G. Bullard.

29th Mississippi, Colonel E. C. Walthall.

Blythe's Mississippi regiment, Lieutenant Colonel

James Moore.

Ketchum's baty., Captain Wm. H. Ketchum.

Third Brigade.

Brigadier General J. K. JACKSON.

24th Alabama, Colonel W. A. Buck.

32nd Alabama, Colonel Alexander McKinstry.

5th Georgia, Colonel W. T. Black.

8th Mississippi, Lieutenant Colonel A. McNeill.

27th Mississippi,* Colonel T. M. Jones.

Burtwell's battery, Captain J. R. B. Burtwell.

Fourth Brigade.

Colonel A. M. MANIGAULT, 10th South Carolina Infantry.

28th Alabama, Lieutenant Colonel John C. Reid.

34th Alabama, Colonel J. C. B. Mitchell.

1st Louisiana, Lieutenant Colonel F. H. Farrar,jr.

10th South Carolina, Lieutenant Colonel James F. Pressley.

19th South Carolina, Colonel A. J. Lythgoe.

Waters' battery, Captain David D. Waters.

ABINGDON, VA., August 19, 1862.


I received your telegram to "move when Kirby Smith telegraphs." It is sufficient and satisfactory. I shall devote myself to the preparation.


*To be transferred to left wing.